The dry lip solution and what you REALLY need to know about Paw Paw Ointment

OK so I alluded to this a bit in my last post – that some Paw Paw Ointment is bad as essentially it is petroleum based. Sadly, the one that most people use is the one I’m lucas paw pawreferring to – the red one. Everyone I know has a tube in their house. The country went wild over this when it first came out. Well folks, you went wild over Vaseline with 4% paw paw and you are paying a premium price for it. Do you feel ripped off? I do a bit.

To be fair to the company, they aren’t hiding their product ingredients from the world. They convenientily aren’t on the product however they are listed on the website. The petroleum they use is pharmaceutical grade which is reassuring but does that make it ok as a product?

So what’s wrong with petroleum based products anyway?

There are loads of articles out there that examine this in greater detail with links to research papers so I am going to leave it with you to decide for yourself but here’s the overview.

  1. Petroleum based means it comes from an oil rig folks. That doesn’t make me feel awesome but I am not an idiot and understand how things can be done to purify something and make it safe for use because SCIENCE. It is amazing. I mean if you want to talk dodgy stuff let’s look at microwaves and mobile phones. There’s plenty of stuff in our daily lives that is dodgy if we have increased exposure.
  2. The word carcinogenic is being bandied about. Refer to this link for greater details with links to research.
  3. Petroleum is actually a sealant, not a moisturiser. So it will protect your lips from wind or anything drying as it blocks that from getting through. It does not moisturise though. It will not add moisture. This also means you are blocking your lips from any moisture providing properties in the environment – and there are some. You are also blocking them from releasing any toxins. So if you are using it and it is working it is essentially because you are letting your lips gradually heal under the sealant. The paw paw still has the active paw paw ingredient so maybe that is helping as well even though the quantity is small but I have no idea. I am just supposing this in my brain with no basis at all.

So what do you use instead?

Well that’s up to you. A lot of people suggested I make my own and I think I might Paw_Allseriously look into that for future. I was using coconut oil straight out of the jar and while it was soothing and beautiful when I put it on, it absorbed quickly and was sloooooow to improve. My skin was literally peeling right off my lips (yay for crazy pregnancy symptoms). I was toying with the idea of trying a coconut oil and honey combo which I think probably has some merit but in the end I took my money and decided to just pay for a solution at the health food store.

I bought the Natural Alternative Certified Organic Paw Paw Ointment and it is amaaaaaaaaaazing. It has totally changed my life overnight. The instant it hit my lips lips they felt nourished which I haven’t felt from anything else I’ve used so far.

The ingredients list is a delight. It has:

Castor (Ricinus Communis) Oil, Beeswax, Coconut (Cocos Nucifera) Oil, Cocoa (Theobroma Cacao) Butter, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Honey, Jojoba (Buxus Chinensis) Oil, Vanilla (Vanilla Plantifolia) Oil, Carrot (Daucus Carota Sativa) Oil, Stevia (Rebaudiana  Bertoni) Extract, Tocopherol

I didn’t know what Tocopherol was so I asked Wikipedia and you will be pleased to know it is harmless. Straight from the horses mouths so to speak:

Tocopheryl acetate, also known as vitamin E acetate, is a common vitamin supplement with the molecular formula C₃₁H₅₂O₃. It is the ester of acetic acid and tocopherol. It is often used in dermatological products such as skin creams.

I bought the motherload in the massive tube and it cost me $16.95. I think the smaller tube is probably around $7.95 which is more expensive than the red paw paw but kinda worth it I think. But that’s just me.  All I know is I can move my lips again, they aren’t looking like they are about to flake off my face anymore and I can even pucker up without feeling extreme pain. Winning!

Happy weekend folks.

15 thoughts on “The dry lip solution and what you REALLY need to know about Paw Paw Ointment

  1. I’ve never seen that paw paw stuff, they must not have it around here. I’m glad you found something that’s really helping you though, and doesn’t seem toxic at all. Happy day!

    Like

  2. Ahhhh, fascinating info about petroleum jelly basically being a sealant – I always wondered why an oil by-product was so effective (I still rely on vaseline now and again as there’s just nothing quite like it out there). Thank you – I do love a bit of objective research! X

    Like

    • Yeah this was such a fun one to discover. I ended up stumbling on stuff on coffee pods yesterday and how bad they are for the environment. So much plastic! And the machines are plastic. It made me sad. That is a hard one to deal with.

      Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

