Healthy Treat Review: Avocado Lime Cheesecake

I baked this baby on the weekend. It is about as healthy as a “cheesecake” can get although the term is used pretty loosely given that there is not a lick of cheese in the whole thing. No dairy at all, nor gluten, refined sugar or anything else that you could consider evil. In fact, it is so good for you that we just had it for dinner (it’s Sunday night so you can do that, have cake for dinner).

My photography is shocking but here you go. Mine didn’t turn out as bright green as the original recipe. Maybe our avos are different here? Or maybe it was the lemon I added to the lime. Who knows. It still tasted good.

2015-07-06 08.04.17

This dish is all about the crust. If you take a mouthful take one with some crust + faux green cheese as the taste explosion with the combination of flavours is incredible. I think I will now use this as my go to crust for any treat slices that I am trying to convert to “healthy” because PECANS. How could I not? The idea just seems crazy.

I modified the recipe a bit and have further tips now it is tried and tested so here is my version and suggestions.

My method is using a thermomix.  If you don’t have one then just chuck it in a food processor and blend until you get the same results (if that is too free form for you then check out the original recipe – it uses a food processor).

Crust*

  • 125g pecans
  • 45g dessicated coconut
  • 185g pitted dates (I used dried but fresh ones would be even more incredible)
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil, melted and at room temperature.

Preheat oven to 150C. Place pecans and coconut on a oven tray lined with baking paper. Toast for around 8 mins.

When toasted add to Thermomix along with the remaining crust ingredients.

Blend 7 secs / sp 7 – mixture should be crumbly NOT smooth so don’t over processes. If it holds together when you pinch it it is ready to go.

Line a cake tin – about 18-20cm wide. The wider the base the thinner the crust so don’t go too big. You want a nice chunk of crust. Pour crust in, push down with the back of a spoon until flat and pop the tin in the fridge until your filling is ready.

*the original recipe includes 70g raw cacao nibs in the crust. I didn’t have any so left them out and it didn’t seem to matter at all. Still amazing.

“Cheesecake filling”

  • 560g avocado flesh (around 5 medium avocados)*
  •  200ml lime juice (about 10 apparently – it didn’t net me 200mls of lime juice so I added one lemon)
  • 155g coconut oil (175ml if you are measuring that way)
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  • 150g honey or other sweetner**

*the filling is deeper than it probably needs to be. You could probably use less avos and then less limes and coconut oil and sweetner but you’d be on your own with quantities. You could add what you think, mix and taste test and then add more of whatever you think until it tastes right.  I might do this next time.

**the original recipe uses 190g honey. I found this to be too strong in flavour for me but then I’m not normally a person who chooses honey as a sweetener. I’d be keen to see how maple goes instead. Or next time we will just use less honey. I ended up adding more lime zest and squeezing the hell out of my lime shells to get a few more drops to reduce the honey taste and tang it up a bit more.

Chuck all filling ingredients into the Thermie. Whiz for as long as you need – I did about 25 seconds on speed 7 just to be sure it was all mixed and nice and creamy.

Taste it. Then add more of whatever you need – it will either be sweetener or lime zest/juice. Whatever your taste buds prefer is what you do but I went for extra tang.

Pour the filling straight over the base. Pop a plate over the top and put back in the fridge to set – a few hours at minimum but overnight is ok too.

To serve, lift the baking paper sides and you will pull the cake right out of the tin. Place on a plate and voila! It’s done.

Enjoy!

*WARNING:  check the cost of your ingredients before embarking on this journey as this has the potential to be an exe recipe to make (like it was for me – I didn’t check the cost of ingredients first like a dufus). If you can get limes and avos on sale for it then you are laughing. This is the time to make this baby. It’s sooooo easy.

23 thoughts on “Healthy Treat Review: Avocado Lime Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Week 5 Weigh-In – Good Health Challenge | The Secret Life of Emily Maine

  2. Wow, what a cool idea, I had no idea that you could use avocado for cheesecake. Your crust recipe looks really good, I also like using nuts in crusts because it feels healthier but still has some oil to it.

    Like

    • It happens. You’ve had a tough few weeks hon. Don’t be too hard on yourself. My weekend wasn’t that crash hot either to be honest! I even slipped in some champers lol

      Like

  3. This sounds yummy. I wonder if it would freeze. Although, I doubt we’d have one left to freeze if we made it. Thank you for sharing! We will try this, I think. But you’re so right! Lemons and limes here are ghastly priced!

    Like

  4. Glad it turned out so well;) When Ive made it, it has always been as green as the picture..but maybe to do with type of avocado. I liked the cocoa nibs in the base but I can see how it would work just as well without it.

    Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

