21DGH – Day 21 Food – The LAST day!!!!

Wooooot! I made it. I did my 21 days of good health. I won’t know my final weight until I weigh in tomorrow morning but regardless of the outcome on the scales I have done a great thing for my health these past three weeks. I really feel like I’ve taken myself on a new path.

We still have a long way to go, especially me with Monkey. He has the “white food” diet preference of most 3-4 year olds at the moment and while I always try to feed him what I am having sometimes it is so disheartening when he says “no I don’t like that” and pushes food away. When this happens I often just let him go without or push him to have a few mouthfuls but I notice that it really slows his digestion down if we skip meals and/or fill with less than ideal food and I really don’t want him to have to go down that path.

In saying all that he is actually a really good vegetable eater so I should be grateful for small mercies.

This evening I am EXHAUSTED. Monkey didn’t go with Eric until this morning to allow Eric some time to get over his pain and feel a bit better after the kidney stone excitement during the week. The day was a gorgeous sunny winter’s day and I almost went for a beach walk again…but then I remember I needed to weed the garden. I decided that was about as good as a beach walk as it is very physical and meant I got time in the sun so win win.

This is a big deal for me. I haven’t weeded a garden since I was a tween earning pocket money and I hated it with a passion back then hence the reason I haven’t touched a garden in years. I was surprised by how rewarding it was today. So cathartic just plugging away..ending with something clear and clean. Not a bad at all for a good old crazy mind like mine.

Oh man I am feeling it tonight! What a good workout doing the weeding is!  And those roots. FUCK. I am so impressed by the root system of the weeds and grass. Freaking incredible. I didn’t have one of those baby digging spades so I did it all with my hands wearing gardening gloves. The tips of my fingers are actually in pain this evening!. Must buy spade thingymajiggy.

Check it out.

2015-06-28 12.33.59

BEFORE

2015-06-28 14.29.27

AFTER

It still looks a little messy in the after shot but is more to do with needing to prune….I think. I have no idea what to chop and what to leave so whether or not it ever gets any better than this, well who knows.

Anyway, here is the food diary for my last day of food logging. Woooot!

Breakfast: Left over homemade baked beans from yesterday. On a slice of Ancient Grains Spelt Sourdough (I’m missing my Oat one this week – boo).

Snack: Mandarin and then dried apricots a little later.

Late lunch: Smoothie – frozen pineapple (I froze it from fresh), organic banana, frozen raspberries, chia seeds, coco-quench milk. I meant to put protein powder in it and forgot. It was super yummy though.

Snack: I tried the BROWNIES! Finally! Absofuckinglutely amazing. You have to try them. They are super nutty (and i love nuts but they probably do have more than needed) so I might reduce a little next time. Also I must have used a smaller tin so my brownie is thinner than the one in the picture. I just broke the brownie in half and stacked it. Tada. Thick brownie. It was good. Very good. Will definitely stay in rotation.

The brownie went down with a lemon and ginger tea this afternoon.

Dinner: I had leftovers from last night – both of the pastry wheels and the quinoa with chicken and veg. All yum and good.

Snacks: I will probably have more tea later tonight but I think I’m done with food. In fact, it’s only 7:40pm here and I think I’m going to be done with being awake very very soon.

See you tomorrow morning for my weigh-in – the last post for stage 1 of my health challenge.

Stage 2 is a weekly weigh-in + a questionnaire for an undetermined period of time – maybe IVF stims. I’m not sure.  I’ve outlined it all here if you are interested in the finer details.

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “21DGH – Day 21 Food – The LAST day!!!!

  1. Congrats on making it through these past 3 weeks! Surprisingly, it seemed to have gone by fairly quickly. I totally agree about the weeding. It’s kind of like any yard work to me – reminds me of childhood chores, but it is really rewarding to see it go from unkempt to pretty beautiful, with a little elbow grease and dirty nails!

    Like

  2. I really enjoy gardening, I find it very therapeutic 🙂 I need to make more time to do it though.
    Moving forward now that you have finished your initial challenge, pretty please can you post recipes and photos (if you happen to have them/take them) of all the yummy food you create 🙂 Obviously if this is not what you want to be putting on your blog you don’t have to 🙂

    Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

