Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhood award

Psssst. I got an award. It’s actually not even my first one but I have been really SHIT at doing the award posts. I’m a terrible blogger sometimes.

Anyway I promised I would do this one because I was so touched when the lovely Amy over at My Brain’s Escape nominated me as one of her go-to blogs. I mean the fact that I am anyone’s “go-to” blog is pretty freaking amazing. So I wanted to honour her by making the time to do this awards post. So, thank you Amy. Sorry it still took me around 6 weeks. Hopeless.

So with these things there are rules. Here are the rules for this one:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and link back to their blog
  2. Display the award logo on your blog
  3. Answer the 10 questions given to you
  4. Nominate 7 blogs, and give them 10 questions of your own

These are essentially big chain letters in case you haven’t noticed already but I do enjoy them for the questions. It is so fun to find out the little tidbits about the people you chat with regularly in blogging world. It makes everyone that little bit more “real”.

Let’s get onto the questions.

  1. If you could have any occupation, and your pay or benefits weren’t an issue, what would it be? I still don’t know the answer to this. I thought it was writing for awhile but I’m not so sure about that anymore. I freelance from home right now and I’m pretty happy with that for now but it’s hardly my passion. I’ve had an online retail store too (hated that and sold it recently). I guess I’ll figure it out. Right now I’m focused on making this baby. We’ll see about career when I am done with that part of my life.
  2. What is your favorite dessert food? Something with proper caramel.
  3. What kind of movies do you prefer to watch? I’m not really a movie person. I tend to watch TV shows more than movies.
  4. When you meet someone new, what is the first thing you usually notice about them? What sort of vibe I get from someone straight up usually dictates what happens from there. If I’m not liking the vibe and we don’t click, I usually don’t bother.
  5. What’s your most hated household chore? By definition chores are not to be enjoyed! Hmmm washing the dishes might be my least favourite.
  6. What would be your ideal vacation? These days somewhere with a fabulous kids club so I get some child free cocktail time as well as seeing some cool shit with my kid. Best of both worlds.
  7. Do you enjoy receiving flowers and cards, or do you feel it’s a waste of money? I love both. Any sort of gift that shows someone has been thinking of you is a blessing.
  8. If you have a coworker that you can’t stand, how do you deal with seeing/interacting with them daily? Wow, it’s been so long since I had to deal with this. I used to be civil and dodge them wherever possible.
  9. Are you close to your parents and siblings? Yes to all siblings and my mum. My dad is a jerk face alcoholic idiot so I guess you would say we aren’t that close.
  10. Do you have a good sense of design? Meaning: are you able to visualize what you would like your home/room to look like, and able to carry it out? Or are you better off hiring someone to do it for you? I SUCK at design. I know what I like but I’m screwed at putting it together. Which is why my house looks haphazard as opposed to magazine worthy.

OK now I get to nominate 7 other awesome bloggers. Here are some blogs I truly adore. Even if they don’t do this award post I will still love them because they are really are all that and then some. Some of them I have been following for years now and they truly are my soul sisters. You should check them out.

1. Zero to Done

2. The Sky and Back

3. Positive Minds Live Positive Lives

4. The Homeschooling Doctor

5. My Year of Sweat

6. Did That Just Happen Blog

7. Taking our Family from 3 to 4

Here are my questions for you should you choose to participate.

1. What is the thing you are most proud of in your life.

2. Name one thing on your bucket list you think you will certainly do.

3. Chocolate or lollies?

4. What is your favourite day of the week and why?

5. What is your first memory?

6. What is your must read book you recommend to everyone?

7. Your weakness when it comes to food.

8. Your favourite exercise.

9. Do you believe in God? Because why make all the questions so easy.

10. Do you have any bad habits? Spill.

I actually don’t know if any of these bloggers will actually do the post so I may never find out the answers to these questions but that’s ok. I will survive this.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the read peeps and thanks again, Amy.

~Ems~

19 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Okay, your second sentence in the response to #9 cracked me up – even though it’s not funny. Your wording – brilliant!

    You are a doll for nominating me! Since I declared my blog an award-free zone a few months back, I will thank you with a virtual hug, and blow you a kiss across land and ocean! Oh, and just to play along a bit, here are my responses to your questions:

    1. What is the thing you are most proud of in your life.
    Contributing to adding two amazing adults to this planet. When all is said and done, that’s what really matters to me, that I will leave this earth having left 2 more good people on it.

    2. Name one thing on your bucket list you think you will certainly do.
    I will definitely climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. I will also trek the 40 km Inca Trail to Machu Picchu.

    3. Chocolate or lollies?
    Chocolate, 100%.

    4. What is your favourite day of the week and why?
    Saturday. Friday is good, because it signals the end of the work week. Sunday is alright, but generally has me already obsessing over what awaits me Monday morning. Saturday is the day I have truly left work behind me and haven’t yet started to think about work the week ahead.

    5. What is your first memory?
    One of my earliest was from a visit to the local department store with my dad. This place had a cafe/soda shop, and he took me there for dinner as my mom was in hospital. I remember exactly what I ordered: grilled cheese and a red drink (not sure if it was cream soda or a kool-aid type non carbonated drink, but I know it was red). I accidentally tipped my glass over and my sandwich was swimming in sweet red liquid. I started crying because I didn’t want to eat it. Money was tight back then, so I know my dad had to probably think twice about ordering me a replacement sandwich, which I happily ate up. Then, being the frugal, immigrant, working class man he was, and not wanting to see the soggy (but edible) sandwich go to the garbage, he ate it. I think about that outing to The Metropolitan (the name of the store) often – as it was one very tangible memory of my father’s love for me. Ours was not a hugely demonstrative family; no “I love you”s flying around, etc., but that day, I felt loved.

    6. What is your must read book you recommend to everyone?
    Wow, this is tough. So many great books; so many different genres. I guess if I had to pick just one, it would be To Kill a Mockingbird.

    7. Your weakness when it comes to food.
    Cheese!

    8. Your favourite exercise.
    Hiking! 🙂

    9. Do you believe in God? Because why make all the questions so easy.
    This is a conversation over wine, I think. I don’t believe in religion – that I’m super clear on. I’m fuzzier on where I stand on the God question. I am not sure I believe in a single entity that was the master creator of all. Science would challenge that notion on many levels (if you haven’t read it yet, consider, The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins). I do believe in a universal ‘good’. I believe that there is a connectedness that binds us. I believe that there is more to us than flesh and bone, but I’m not exactly sure what happens to our spirits when we die. So…basically, I’m just not sure about a lot of things. Well, other than religion. That is something I’m 100% sure I do not support. 🙂

    10. Do you have any bad habits? Spill.
    Let’s see, where shall I start?… Judgmental, Gossip-y, Impatient, Quick tempered… That covers the big ones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha oh yes it was meant to be honest and amusing too. I love that you got that. I love that you answered my questiins. So awesome. I am 100% with you on the God/religion one. That’s where I am at too x

      Liked by 1 person

    • That memory of yoyr father is so moving, Nancy. Him eating that soggy sandwich and gwtting a new one. Man that is love. And as a parent I totally sympathise with him. He must have had the biggest sigh on the inside when you spilled that drink. You know those events. The one day you decide to splash out and do something special and bam! Doesn’t go to plan and costs more than you ever want to spend.I am so glad I asked this question!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely hate doing the dishes, too! Blech, the worst. Also, I’m totally a first impression vibe person as well. Sometimes I’m wrong, though, and hate the person’s initial vibe, but then end up loving them later! Joke’s on me in those cases, I guess. I think it’s funny how you can also tell someone’s vibe through their writing. For example, when I first read a blog post of yours I immediately was like, “This Emily Maine chick is cool and I don’t even know her real name!” Luckily I know your real name now (I’ll never tell!), and have also come to learn that my initial impression was dead on. Thanks for the award nomination. I absolutely suck at filling them out. Mostly because I’m lazy. But I appreciate being nominated!

    Like

    • Yes sometimes I am wrong too but usually I find it is because I have left my judgement instruct the vibe which of course is totally naughty. I totally agree with the writing doing the same thing. As soon as I read your blog I was all this chick is cool and we need to be friends. And then we were, just like that! CLICK. Hence the reason you are on my sister list, girlfriend. X

      Like

  3. Aww thanks!! You make me laugh…you’re not hopeless, because look, you did it!! And I’m excited about your food diary blogging, because that means I’ll get to hear from you every day! Yay! And caramel is delicious!

    Like

  4. If it took you 6 weeks, give me 6 months, or 6X6 months…I hate laundry. Hate it…Vibe. Hmmm. I think the brightness of activity behind the eyes, the graciousness of the smile, and the vibe. That’s probably all “vibe.”…There is a God and He will help me stay off of coffee…Seriously, it is strange, this blogging world, but I know that little words, pats, jokes, and exchanges make all the difference! Thanks for thinking of me and my little piece of the world, er, internet.
    Terri

    Like

  5. Thank you for nominating me!!!! I’m a absolutely rubbish at doing award posts, so I will add this to my todo list, but I apologise in advance if I don’t get around to it. I loved reading the answers to your questions though. A little bit of insight into you that we don’t otherwise get 🙂

    Like

  6. This was awesome! I’ve been horrible about these before too. Btw, I also completely suck at design. I get super anxious about it picking things out, lol.

    Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

