Sounds like bad news but it is actually good news

This time yesterday I was out of my surgery and moved into stage 2 recovery already. Stage 2 recovery is for the peeps going home that day. They plonk you in a chair and give you some food and drink and work you towards walking by yourself and getting yourself out of your fetching hospital gown and robe and into your normal person clothes.

My surgery was a laparoscopy (camera through the belly button)  and a hysteroscopy (tubal flush).  

The surgery itself seemed to go really well. I was in a fair bit of pain when I first came out but they dosed me up quite nicely and sent me home with some great meds. I pretty much just slept the rest of the day when I got home. Well until Monkey came home at 5:30pm anyway. I gave him dinner (which I’d precooked earlier in the week – I was SO organised) and we went to bed together. Eric came to stay the night after work so he could check on me which was nice but we were all good.

I was pretty stressed about the results this morning. I felt quite certain that they didn’t remove anything as I wasn’t in as much pain as I thought I would be. But it turns out I was wrong. I called the clinic this morning and they advised me that my left tube is convoluted AND they removed endometriosis on the right hand side.

I cannot tell you how thrilled I am which sounds absurd, I know. But you see, now I  have a reason. I finally have a reason that it has been so hard for us to have our baby.

Basically every time I ovulate on the left hand side the egg never makes it down for fertilisation. And then when I do ovulate on the right and my egg makes the journey down my egg quality is compromised by the endo. And this explains why they are pulling massive numbers of eggs down and never getting a healthy embryo with IVF.

I would have had the convoluted tube when conceiving Monkey but probably not the endo. Obviously the month we conceived him I got lucky and ovulated on the right hand side.

I have to wonder if the C-section contributed to the endo development? This blog seems to suggest that can occur. Or maybe it is just age? All questions for Dr O I guess. But I had no symptoms of endometriosis. I am one of these silent endometriosis sufferers that Dr Braverman talks about. It is true. It does happen.

I have no idea what level my endo was at but as I didn’t have any extra incisions it would seem they didn’t have to do extensive work to remove it so hopefully that means early stages. I have no idea if I need further treatment before we can cycle again or anything like that. We will continue with our no plastics, no toxins, no drinking, loads of supplements blah blah regime as well just to give ourselves the best chance possible.

My follow up with Dr O is next Thursday so I will know more information then.

I just want to take a moment to give a massive rap to the nursing staff at Allamanda Private Hospital on the Gold Coast. All the staff were so caring. They introduced themselves and treated me like a person, not just a number. My Dr, Dr Kee Ong, was also completely fabulous. He came to see me prior to surgery and gave me a reassuring rub on the shoulder while explaining what would happen. Once I was wheeled into theatre and the anesthetist and her nurse were hooking me up and knocking me out, Dr Ong just stood there and reassuringly held my hand the whole time. He is so thoughtful and caring. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

Eric is thrilled with the news too but also really peeved with Dr D. We are leaving it for now but once we get our baby, and I feel now that we will, we will write him a letter to advise him of what took place once we left his clinic. If I can help one more woman then it is worth it. He is a lovely man but he should have been going in to have a look himself after so many dud embryos. I was a statistical anomaly and that warranted further investigation.

I am so glad we pushed on and sought our second opinion as that bought us to Dr Ong and Monash IVF and now we have some answers. Hooray! Can’t wait until my follow up appointment next Thursday. I’m feeling good.

33 thoughts on “Sounds like bad news but it is actually good news

  1. This is fabulous!! Not the issues, per se, but the fact that they found out a reason for everything!! I’m beyond happy for you! I hope that this will finally bring you that baby you’ve been dreaming of!! So sorry your other Dr didn’t do enough investigating and find this out for himself. Is there anything they can do to “fix” the left tube? Or is it just a lost cause? Either way, yay for progress!!

    Like

  2. Wow, this is a pretty great outcome… At least a reason for all of this. I am so thrilled for you. I hope you are feeling ok today. Can’t wait for next weeks update after the doctors appointment! Eep 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. Ahh! Knowing is such a good feeling! I have a cactus ovary/tube on the left, they didn’t even touch that during surgery and it produced low numbers at egg retrieval. Righty ovary was ok, but the tube was cactus. If anything, I ended up being glad that my tubes copped the worst – they saved my womb and that has allowed me to carry this little baby. There can be great outcomes, I’m one of them! And the time after surgery is the perfect time to get cracking!

    Like

  4. Great news! I agree with the letter to Dr D afterwards. I have been thinking I’ll do the same *after I have my baby in my arms*, about my experience at my previous clinic. Terrified to jinx anything by doing it before then. Very happy for you! I wish you a speedy recovery and all the success in your next cycle! Xx

    Like

    • Nope I have never had any issues with my period or mid cycle at all. The only time I have noticed anything was I had a bit of stabbing on my RHS the day I went to have my surgery (day 2 of my cycle) and the last two months when I have ovulated it has hurt more than usual but that’s it. I didn’t ever take pain relief for it and I didn’t consider my period as something that bothered me at all. It certainly wasn’t too heavy or anything either. So bizarre!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Brilliant news. Aren’t you glad you trusted your instinct and didn’t listen to the first doc? Maybe exploratory surgery is not in his comfort zone, so glad you found someone who would fight for you to help you figure it out!

    Like

    • Me too! I really am so pleased we did listen to our instincts in the end. I just feel so grateful we went somewhere else and got some answers. When I think about how many couples would have given up at the point instead it makes me sad. There needs to be better care.

      Like

  6. I’m so excited for you – and I agree with Eric, a letter later on is a good idea. I am not going to waste my energy being mad at the other doctor, instead, I’m going to spend my energy being so excited for the new doctor and development and all the exciting things happening!! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you lovely. That’s where we are focusing our energy too. So our new baby can come to us! I don’t even feel mad about Dr D. Just a bit sad and disappointed. Most of all I feel excited that we have some answers as I feel this is the breakthrough we needed.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I bet you’re stage one or two endo-I was stage two. I’m glad they found some potential answers! I was the same way-bad pain when I woke up but they gave a TON of morphine immediately. I love that stuff….

    Like

    • Yeah go the pain meds! I slept most of the day!! Was awesome. Although when I first woke in recovery I could not stop shivering. That wasn’t so awesome. Felt like a junkie! lol

      Like

  8. Woooop-woooop! I am so, so, soooooo happy to hear that you finally have your mother effing answers! What a relief. This is really great news. What is a convoluted tube, btw? Google is not helping me much with that one. Also, btw, I keep telling Tim that if I have endo I know it’s on my right side as that’s the only place I ever have random pain. We’ll see if I’m right and if we end up being endo twins. Haha I’m so weird sometimes. Anyway, YAY! Can’t wait to hear what your doctor says at your follow up. BOOM! ANSWERS!

    Like

    • From what I can tell on google it is more a shrivelled in tube? I think? I’m not entirely sure either but I do know it isn’t how it is supposed to be. Dr O will be able to clear that up I guess! haha imagine if we were endo twins! Wouldn’t surprise me given our similar issues. Hey did you have your little one naturally or via c-section? I am so thrilled about all this. I hope your surgery gives you the answers you are looking for too. xxx

      Like

    • PS they warn you the combo of the type of surgery + pain meds can constipate you. I thought naaaahhhh. I had this massive roast vege lasagne (without lasagne sheets though) I’d cooked to get a big veg dose every day. I thought I’d be sweet. I’ve waddled to the pharmacy this morning not so sweet. Have that prune juice and dried fruit on hand and start necking it from the moment you at home and recovering!!

      Like

  9. As you say – it sounds like bad news, but it is really brilliant news. I am so, so glad that you had this done and got these answers. Endometriosis is scary and I had no idea it could be silent (I have a friend who has it badly but she has always had symptoms). Just wow – it explains so much. Like how the hell you can be so fit and healthy and do EVERYTHING right and still end up not getting where you want to be. This is SO exciting for the future!!! I’m glad the surgery went well and you’re recovering okay. I feel like this is the beginning of a new stage for all of you!!!! Huge hugs xxxxxx

    Like

    • I feel like that too. I actually sat there and spoke to our baby(ies?) yesterday which I’ve never been able to do before. I just feel now that they are so close, that we are making the perfect little environment for them to flourish in. We found the needle that seemed buried in the haystack and now we can just get on with it! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  10. That’s fantastic that you were able to get some answers!! I think you’re doing the right thing by approaching Dr. D down the road and bringing awareness to his oversight. I’m so glad you had a good recovery!!

    Like

  11. Hi. I have literally just got home a few hours ago from it seems surgery with Dr Ong. I was just wondering how many incisions he made. I have four dressings on my abdomen. My appointment is on Friday for follow up. How have you gone with such subsequent cycles now that the lap has been done? Thanks 🙂

    Like

    • You can call the clinic and they will tell you the number of incisions and if he had to remove endometriosis. Speak to Tegan 🙂 I actually fell pregnant naturally right after the surgery (after 3 unsuccessful full IVF cycles at my previous clinic – I couldn’t even get a healthy embryo). Sadly I miscarried that baby at 6.5 weeks. Dr Ong insisted we try again naturally the next month as I prepared for an IVF cycle and I fell pregnant naturally AGAIN. I am now 15 weeks pregnant with that baby. I cannot speak highly enough of Dr Ong. He found the problem when no one else did. My previous clinic would have allowed us to keep pouring money down the drain with cycles that would never have ended in a healthy baby because my endometriosis was essentially turning my eggs off so we couldn’t make healthy babies. Good luck with your journey. I hope you have as much success as we did post surgery.

      Like

      • That is so exciting for you! After posting my comment I had a read through your timeline and you have had an incredibly tough time. I am so so happy for you that the surgery worked and not only did you fall pregnant, but you fell pregnant naturally. Congrats!! I definitely feel like we are in the best hands with Dr Ong. Xo ps Tegan is seriously the best. She is so nice!

        Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

