A holiday in pictures

Here is some of the magic of our trip for you. The photo captions tell most of the story.

In the background why don’t you listen to this beautiful tune. My brother and his wife had a good friend play this on the ukulele while singing as we all walked down the aisle so it seems fitting for this little slide show. Enjoy!

2015-05-07 09.58.27

Monkey looking excitedly at our jumbo jet. He could not wait.

2015-05-07 23.21.16

Li’l traveler in LA. He did so well although Mummy was doing less well at this point.

It was at this point I made a deal with Eric – you do the parenting in the airport while I have coffee and recover and I will parent for the entire 3 hour flight from LA to Vancouver. Turned out to be a good deal as Monkey slept the second 1.5 hours of the flight! Woooo!

The hens was a big day starting with Paint Nite (where you drink and paint) at 1pm

The hens was a big day starting with Paint Nite (where you drink and paint) fromΒ 1pm. That’s me at the front right crouching down with the long hair and an orange dress you can just see at the shoulder.

Paint NIte turned out to be held above a bowling alley so guess what we did next? Was awesome fun.

Paint NIte turned out to be held above a bowling alley so guess what we did next? Was awesome fun.

I wish they’d let us drink at the bowling alley in Australia. I’d go more often. Which makes me seem like an alco but anyway… Moving on.

After a weekend in Vancouver we moved on to Squamish, the wedding location, on the Monday. Squamish is about 1.5 hours north of Vancouver, on the way to Whistler. We did a Whistler day trip. Ta da!

Monkey and his little cousin (they were born 6 days apart and love each other) up at Whistler Village

Monkey and his little cousin (they were born 6 days apart and love each other) up at Whistler Village

Look Mummy! Snow! That is my baby frolicking at the front.

Look Mummy! Snow! That is my baby frolicking at the front.

He was so excited I could not get him to stand still for a photo. I think I have a mountain boy. He just lit up in the snow in a way I have never seen before. He also runs hot so I think he might end up enjoying a cooler climate.

The following day we did a little Squamish day out.

On the Gondola up to Squamish lookout. My brother (not the one getting married) on the left and Eric on the right.

On the Gondola up to Squamish lookout. My brother (not the one getting married) on the left and Eric on the right.

The kids refused front on photos so I had to be sneaky. This is pretty cute.

The kids refused front on photos so I had to be sneaky. This is pretty cute.

This was taken right out front of our cabin (Sun Wolf Cabins, Squamish)

This was taken right out front of our cabin (Sun Wolf Cabins, Squamish)

If you are visiting BC and think you might enjoy Squamish (great for rock climbing) then Sun Wolf cabins are a gorgeous spot. They have an amazing cafe, Fergies, open 9-2pm daily and it seems like the whole town comes here for breakfast. The cabins themselves have been recently renovated so everything is in beautiful condition. It is a fabulous location and great for a wedding.

We had yarn bouquets! Aren't they awesome? I made this myself (as in put it together). The bride had already made the actual balls and pom poms and paper flowers

We had yarn bouquets! Aren’t they awesome? I made this myself (as in put it together). The bride had already made the actual balls and pom poms and paper flowers

The cutest bridesmaid with the bouquets.

The cutest bridesmaid with the bouquets.

This is one of my fav pics. I walked down the aisle with Tessa. As you can see I also found a different bridesmaid dress in Vancouver. Yay!

This is one of my fav pics. I walked down the aisle with Tessa. As you can see I also found a different bridesmaid dress in Vancouver. Yay!

The bride makes her entry. Look at that setting!

The bride makes her entry. Look at that setting!

"We did it"

“We did it”

I love the look on their faces here. They look so pleased with themselves. Cuties.

Such a cool shot.

Such a cool shot.

Wooooop. Happy days.

Wooooop. Happy days.

We had wet weather gear in case it rained (but it didn't) so we had to get some cute shots with it all.

We had wet weather gear in case it rained (but it didn’t) so we had to get some cute shots with it all.

2015-05-15 photo by Monica Chan

Such a magical setting for such a tender pure love.

2015-05-15 make up2015-05-15 head shot

My adorable Monkey with one of his Aunties.

My adorable Monkey with one of his Aunties.

Speeches were told around the campfire with smores. So awesome.

Speeches were told around the campfire with smores. So awesome.

A rare photo of me and Eric.

A rare photo of me and Eric.

My bridesmaid gift. Worn with the dress on the day. I love it. It is getting lots of wear since coming home.

My bridesmaid gift. Worn with the dress on the day. I love it. It is getting lots of wear since coming home.

A visit to Stanley Park in Vancouver on our second last day.

A visit to Stanley Park in Vancouver on our second last day.

Monkey catching bubbles.

Monkey catching bubbles.

"I'm ready to wash up now"

“I’m ready to wash up now”

Helping Mummy with the luggage when we got home.

Helping Mummy with the luggage when we got home.

I simply couldn’t not fit all the luggage on one trolley so Monkey had to step up and help me. All of 3.5 years old and he pushed this trolley through the windy line in customs and never skipped a beat. I was so proud of him. All after travelling for about 24 hours straight with all the layovers etc.

All photos of the bridal party were taken by either Arlene J or Monica Chan – both friends of the bride and groom. If you live in the BC area and are looking for a photographer then please leave me a comment and I can get you their details. They do photography on the side and they are both pretty spectacular at it as you can see.

It was a magical day full of pure love and such a magical trip with so much of our extended family attending. It is a holiday I will never forget.

Hope you enjoyed the story.

~Ems~

29 thoughts on “A holiday in pictures

  1. I love all of these pics! I love seeing Monkey and Eric, and I love seeing you laughing. Just awesome. I’m so glad you had a great time.

    I also, I need to know: did you have your surgery today? How did it go? Update on here or email me…OR ELSE. πŸ™‚ Jk, whenever you have time I am dying to know! Xo.

    Like

  2. This looks like so much fun!!! The wedding looks beautiful, I love how they did everything. The setting is breathtaking and the dress you found is beautiful. You look amazing.

    Monkey looks like he had a great time playing with his Cousin and flying on the plane too! Loved the story, thanks Em xx

    Like

  3. You picked the right word: Magical. Just everything looked perfect. Everybody looked perfect and perfectly happy! And what a majestic location! I’ve never been. Very neat. Loved seeing Monkey. Oh, how he’s grown. I have one who loves the cold! The others want to move back to our last warm state! So, as you say, maybe he’ll be a mountain man! Good photos!

    Like

  4. Oh how amazing! I loved the music, which lasted exactly as long as I took to look at all the pictures and captions – and I can’t believe how Monkey is growing! He is an amazing little boy! And love the rare pic of you and Eric, but loved the shots of you – you looked beautiful.

    Like

    • Oh yay! I’m so glad you listened to the song while you scrolled and it worked! And yes, Monkey is so much bigger than when you last saw him I imagine. I was just saying to another follower from the old blog that I will try to feature him a little more. I forget there are many of you who got to see him often in the past so of course you’d love a sneak peak at him now. And thanks for the compliment lovely. I felt beautiful on the day. It was just so lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Just lovely pics – thank you for sharing. You look just so beautiful and happy and relaxed in these shots – seriously – I could just hug you for being able to be so beautiful and have so much fun despite everything you have been through. You are amazing woman! xxx

    Like

    • Awwwww thanks lovely. It helps when you are with so many of your people. The vibration, the energy of so many who love one another in that little forest just made for the most magical environment x

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me people, I love it!

