Blood test results

I got lucky (a sign?) and got my blood test results back this afternoon rather than having to wait until tomorrow morning. Yay!

So, technically I’m preggers however my HCG is only at 21 which is pretty damn low. The nurse wasn’t overly excited when she spoke to me, more cautious. She says I need to have another test on Friday to see if it has gone up enough.

Obviously I have googled the shit out of it and have found people with low HCG at the same stage who have gone on to have successful pregnancies, I’ve also found people who have gone on to have losses. I found a chart that said for 14 days post ovulation (I’m probably 15) the HCG should be somewhere between 5-50 with the average being 21. That made me feel better.

From here, it’s just wait and see I guess. And hope for the best. I had a bit of a time out from work today when all this happened so I could relax and chill and after that I felt a lot better and more positive. I ‘ve honestly felt really great this whole cycle and there’s no need for that to change now.

~Ems~

33 thoughts on “Blood test results

  1. I had a self-imposed technology ban over the weekend, so I’ve had a rollercoaster ride carching up on these posts – my goodness!!! OK, so I am really excited about the positive test, but oh Ems… I’m worried about the low hcg for you. I have read amazing stories of pregnancies getting started and being successul under far more dubious circumstances so anything is possible. Hoping that you can stay serene and that you get some good news on Friday. Gawd, this totally sucks after you being so brilliant in the two week wait. I’m sorry you’re going through all this uncertainty. Things here are all quiet. I did test once each morning from 8dpo just to check but I had a perfect white BFN each time, as I expected. I really, really thought this was going to be the month. I guess the universe has other plans. Hang in there, big hugs xxxxxxxx

    Like

  2. Er, I just re-read that and the bit about “more dubious circumstances” wasn’t meant to belittle what you are going through – what I meant is all is not lost, no matter what – not that what’s happening to you isn’t serious or terrifying or upsetting. Oh, you know what I mean. Sorry – that just came out all wrong. I’d be a mess in your position, I’m in awe of you keeping it all together. Praying that baby sticks xxxxxxxx

    Like

    • Oh Rose, don’t sweat it, Your comment was perfect. I knew exactly what you meant. I am pretty stressed by it all but the one thing that is saving me is that I believe it is entirely possible that I ovulated later than I thought this month. The clomid had my ovaries popping like crazy and it was still happening the day after IUI. I’m not convinced I only got one popping follicle. That was one of the reasons we decided to bonk 2 full days after IUI. The CM still seemed right and coupled with the long lasting ovary popping I thought we might as well have another crack. So if I am right about that then maybe I’d have a lower hCG right now than might be ideal. ANYWAY it’s all a theory. I’ll just have to wait and see how the cards play out. Thanks for your wonderful message. xxx

      Like

      • Oh that would explain everything!! Maybe you are a couple of days behind as yes, clomid DOES delay O! Gah. Am on tenterhooks here for you…!!! xxxxxxx

        Like

        • Well the clomid actually brought my O forward as the follicles grew faster (or at the rate they are supposed to – I traditionally always ovulate late) but I’m not convinced that there was only one follicle in the game…and that could have popped a little later. Who knows?!?!?!?! HA

          Like

  3. Congratulations!!! Easier said than done, but stay away from Dr. Google! It’s more important what the number does from here than the actual number itself. Good luck girly!!!!!

    Like

  4. Congrats!! All the positive thoughts and wishes are working for you, now we just need to keep things up to get you through til Friday! You’ve been so sure all along, just keep calm and happy and hopefully everything will work out the way you (and everyone else!) wants it to!

    Like

  5. I know what I’m about to say is easier said than done, but…keep vibing that amazing positive zen vibe of yours. Attitude is EVERYTHING. Please try not to stress. I’m sending every ounce of positive energy your way. All bits crossed for you.

    Like

  6. This might be a really stupid question but is there any way of raising the levels? And what causes low levels? A friend at the beach said in Italy they dish out progesterone to over 40s as miscarriage risk is high. Is this so??? My obstetrician didn’t give me a thing or suggest anything. I’m also not keen to take stuff or force it as I figure if my body (now40+) can’t do it maybe it’s best left. Because maybe I’m not up to doing all nighters etc.
    But what causes these low levels and is it a progesterone thing?

    Like

    • Not stupid at all! I rang my acupuncturist to ask the same thing. Basically you can’t bring the number up. It will just go up naturally if it develops the way it should. I actually asked the Dr about progreterone this cycle but he was adamant that I don’t need it – my tests for it have been really high and my cycle length indicates it is OK as well. I am in two minds about the taking stuff and forcing it thing as well. I don’t want to end up forcing an ovum that isn’t healthy but at the same time sometimes our bodies need help to hold onto otherwise healthy babies. It is hard. I do have a patch of something going on in there that MAY hinder implantation so if this pregnancy doesn’t succeed I’ll be having the MRI to look into that further.

      Basically with the levels, it is normal to be anywhere between 5 and 50 at this stage but usually you’d be looking at the higher end of that. However 21 is still considered to be the average and is within the range. The most important thing here is that it doubles in 48 hours. That is a sign of things going well. So we’ll see what the test says on Friday.

      Like

  7. Emily I’m curious – did your Acu prescribe treatments from iui through to end of 1st trimester? If so what was the recommendation? Mine did one on iui day, will do one this Friday (4dpiui),and I think they suggest once per week until 12 weeks.

    Like

    • That is exactly the program I’m on. Costs me a fortune (more than the IUI wen the month is done!! lol) but I think it is worth it. Both times I’ve fallen pregnant the last year (that includes this time) have been after consistent acupuncture.

      Like

      • Yeah it is definitely costing a fortune! And for sure worth it if it works. I wish I had switched acupuncturists earlier on in this saga. Thinking positive!! Do you feel a mood change since you’ve been taking the herbs? I swear there must be some St John’s wort or something in there, because I’ve been so levelled and stress doesn’t seem to get to me in the same way anymore.

        Like

        • Same! I have these other herbs that I’ve been taking all cycle which she calls chinese happy pills. I’ve struggled a bit with anxiety over the last few years and that has reduced it so much. I am soooo zen. Even with all this crap going on I feel so together and zen. They are amazing. I’m totally addicted to chinese medicine now. The Acu says that some people just respond to it really well. Clearly we are both those people!!!

          Like

  8. Yay!! So exciting…I’m eager to hear how Friday’s test goes. I had a miscarriage before my pregnancy with my son. Then when I got pregnant with him, I had low HCG too and they put me on progesterone for a few weeks. Hang in there…I know it is stressful but exciting too! xo

    Like

    • Thanks, Kerry! That is a super promising story 🙂 I love hearing those ones. I could listen to them all day long! Funnily enough I’m actually not that stressed. I’ve made peace with just letting my body do it’s thing. There will be an outcome one way or another but regardless, I feel good and will be OK. I am feeling positive though. Nice and zen and positive. We have a 3rd birthday in the house tomorrow so that will keep me nice and busy!

      Like

Talk to me people, I love it!

